CFAES Give Today
OSU Extension

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences


The Licking County Agricultural Hall of Fame was established to recognize those individuals who have demonstrated a life-long exemplary service to their community and the industry of agriculture.


Nominations may be made by any individual or organization by completing a nomination form and returning it to The Ohio State University Extension, Attn: Licking County Hall of Fame Committee, 771 E. Main St., Suite 103, Newark, OH 43055. Nominations forms can also be emailed to the OSU Licking County Extension Office at

Licking County Agricultural Hall of Fame Nomination Form

The deadline for nominations is December 31st.

2023 Inductees

Bill & Janet Goodman

Bill and Janet Goodman are lifelong residents of Licking County and farm in Bennington Township on a Century Farm that has been in Janet’s family. Both have deep roots in agriculture and have excelled in agriculture related community service roles. Bill’s 30 years with the Ohio Department of Agriculture in Grain Warehouse, Feed and Fertilizer, and Pesticide Regulation sections provided guidance to farms and agricultural businesses throughout Ohio. Bill sits on both the County and State Soil and Water Conservation Boards as well as the Ohio Farmland Preservation advisory board. Bill practices what he preaches as he just completed an extensive waterway project on his farm to greatly reduce erosion problems. Janet has been part of the Dairy Directors, active with the Highwater Church, and a 4-H advisor. She was also an early participant as a crop scout in our county and she worked on the Ag in the Classroom project with the Farm Bureau. The Goodman’s have been involved with Northridge Schools Athletic Boosters, Band Boosters, coaching baseball, and basketball, and assisting at games. They have been active Farm Bureau Board members and have served as delegates to the state. For several years, they have actively worked with OSU Extension and other volunteers to create Agricultural Bus Trips that are both entertaining and have strong educational components. Bill and Janet enjoy raising cattle and sheep and spending time with their family including sons Marshall, Loren.

Jerry & Sue Keller 

Jerry and Sue Keller have been a vital asset to the Kirkersville area. Jerry is a fourth generation farmer and Sue quickly learned the farm life after moving to the area. The Keller’s have quietly developed their farm from 300 acres to where it now spans into multiple counties. They have always looked for ways to improve their farming practices in order to take care of the land for future generations. Educating youth about agriculture is an area where they both excel. Jerry and Sue were always willing to host elementary students at their farm. For 10 years, elementary students from Kirkersville came out to learn where their food came from on an actual production farm. These were very hands on and educational based programs which included assistance from many other community members. There were a few years Jerry took the farm to the school to teach these lessons due to school field trip restrictions. Agriculture was built into the school curriculum and these on farm programs pulled it all together. With the goal of improving exposure to agriculture in the school, the Keller’s are strong supporters and contributors in the move to bring Ag/FFA back to the Southwest Licking School District. The Keller’s have served as 4-H advisors for over 30 years and have helped with many activities and fundraising projects. Their family style 4-H club that starts with the members and families eating a meal together before each meeting has had a positive influence on both the members and community. The 76ers Farm Bureau Council has been part of their life for over 40 years. They have held many offices and represented the county at the state level. Jerry and Sue are fortunate to have their children Kristy, Kevin, and Karen and their families as neighbors.


Past Recipients

Warren Shaw, Willis Fravel, Robert Martin 1994
Melvin Foor, Charles Arnold 1995
Roger Smith, Jesse VanFossen 1996
Orville Felumlee, Richard Black 1997
William Arter, John E. Hankinson 1998
Merle Scheetz, Charles Sands 1999
P.E. Grubb, Frank Clever 2000
Clayton Oyler, Henry Whitehead 2001
Lester Mitchell, Lawrence Clark 2002
Duane Debolt, James Elder 2003
Marcie Williams, Eugene Branstool 2004
Albert & Shirley Ashbrook, Enyart T. Denman 2005
Phil & Donna Shipley 2006
Jay N. Baird 2008
Robert Jones, James Conrad 2009
Marion Martin, Jack Debolt 2010
Carol Beem, James Hoover 2011
William Gilmore, Jim Heimerl 2012
Lynn Hatfield, Skip Salome 2013
Danny VanFossen, Jesse VanFossen 2014
Richard E. Hoar, L.E. & Mary Jane Thompson 2015
John Mitchell Lynd, William M. Wright 2016
Donald D. Williams, Joseph E. Stevenson 2017
Roger L. Pickering, Rodney J. Newell, Ronald E. Thompson 2018
Timothy Reichert, Rodney Kissel 2019
Jim Kiracofe 2020
Fred Hendren 2021
Tim Shipley 2022
* No 2007 Inductees



























Many Thanks to Our 2023 Sponsors!


Farm Credit Mid-America
Licking County Professional Agrarians
Trillium Farms


The Energy Cooperative
Licking County Farm Bureau
Licking County Soil & Water


Clever Farms
Coshocton Soy Processing
Diamond Hill Farm LTD
Granville Milling, Co.
H.W. Martin & Son Co.
Park National Bank
Rick Black, Licking County Commissioner

Williams Farms LP / Don & Marcie Williams
Winding Trails Maple Syrup: Jim Kiracofe